The House Whisperer

CLASSICA FAIR

In Collecting, Decorateurs, Fairs and Musea, I like, Objects on 21/11/2011 at 19:39

THE EYE CATCHER OF THE FAIR

 

This chandelier that I made with the help(90%) of Nina Marie, a very talented young girl, daughter of my best friend Regine,was the eye catcher on our stand. I made it with teddy bears and other animals stuffed with small Christmas lamps and hang it in the completely black booth. Black carpet,black ceiling, black walls, 13metres long tablets,Louis XVI commode I had it all paint in the same mat black paint. A friend of me made specially for our booth a sofa/double chaise longue in an almost black fabric.I needed some space to hide our coats and other stuff , so I bought a large sheet of black shiny pond foil and covered a large round table with it. Absolutely not practical, but very funny and chic and cheap.

some of the collections of objects

 

sculpture by Fons Schobbers

My Friend Delphine Boel showed some beautiful pieces of the BLABLA serie.Also did Ineke Otte,with her absolutely gorgeous bijoux and Fons Schobbers with 2 amazing sculptures in polyester.

John showed a vast assemblage of different style collections and we had a really amazing time. explaining to young daddies how to make a chandelier as well as changing every day our jewellery to promote Ineke, mostly we had little rats in rubber running up the sleeves of our blazer or i wore an armband in plastic grass. see picrure

It was so funny to see the amazing look in childrens eyes and hear mothers and grandmothers say, hooo we have so many teddies at home, should do something with it. Many Christmas tree will be shaped with teddy bears and surely small chandeliers will be made inspired on this one.

picture by photojoost

Delphine in teddy bears.We understand each other so well.

Mission accomplished

  1. Hello everyone, John here from Collectionsof.com. I just wanted to add a few words to those of the wonderfully talented Benoit to say that even though I have worked with Benoit for the past 5 years and I have never been so proud or astonished at his creativity as I was with work that he had done for Classica 2011. His exhibition on the chair was so amazing that it brought tears to my eyes when I first walked around it (and on many other occasions also). Then there was his vision in black, the stand that he had designed to show our collections and of course the ‘big hug’ as I called it, of course I talk about the wonderful chandelier of cuddly stuffed toys. I am sure it will be the talk of Belgium for some time!
    Magnifique!!
    I also would like to say that his sofa design was superb and to prove it he fell asleep on it for an hour on the first morning of the exhibition. (Photos available of this.. tee hee!).
    There are two videos available on You Tube that show both his chair exhibition and the stand that we had at the exhibition. Simply go to You Tube and search his name, Benoit Vliegen and you will see both of the two videos at the top of the list.
    Well done Benoit, well done!

Leave a Reply

